CV Sciences operates two distinct divisions: pharmaceuticals and consumer products. These divisions are supported by our medical and scientific advisory board, and state‐of‐the art production facilities.

Board Of Directors

Beth Altman

Independent Director

Ms. Altman has served as a Director on CV Sciences, Inc. since October 24, 2019. Ms. Altman joined the Board of Directors and brings a proven track record of more than 25 years including achievements in accounting, finance, management, business development, strategic planning, and corporate governance. Ms. Altman has worked at KPMG since 1993, most recently as an Office Managing Partner where she successfully led a team of over 260 professionals and 23 partners, providing an array of assurance, tax, and advisory services to public and private companies across all industry sectors. Additionally, Ms. Altman served as the lead audit partner for numerous early-stage, middle-market and large global clients in the private and public markets, predominately in the life sciences, consumer markets, and technology sectors. Ms. Altman also served as a board member of the Corporate Directors Forum, a 501(c)(6) nonprofit organization focused on helping directors, and those who support them, build more effective boards through continuous learning and peer networking. She also held a leadership position in the Women Corporate Directors, San Diego Chapter, the world’s largest membership organization and community of today’s preeminent women leaders in business.

Dr. Paul Blake

Independent Director

Dr. Blake has served as a Director on CV Sciences, Inc. since October 21, 2019. Dr. Blake joined the Board of Directors and brings with him deep expertise in clinical research, development, and medical affairs within the pharmaceutical industry. He currently serves as Chief Medical Officer at Heron Therapeutics Inc., a commercial-stage biotechnology company focused on improving the lives of patients suffering from pain or cancer by developing best-in-class treatments. At Heron, Dr. Blake is responsible for clinical research, medical affairs, and drug safety. Prior to joining Heron, he served as Chief Medical Officer of BioDelivery Sciences International, and before that he was the Chief Development Officer at Oxford BioMedica, a gene therapy company. His prior positions include Chief Medical Officer and Senior Vice President of Clinical Research and Development of Aeterna Zentaris, Inc., and Senior Vice President and then Executive Vice President of Worldwide Medical and Regulatory Operations at Cephalon, Inc. From 1992 to 1998, he held the position of Senior Vice President and Medical Director, Clinical Research and Development at SmithKline Beecham Pharmaceuticals (now GSK). Prior to that, he worked for ICI Pharmaceuticals (now Astra Zeneca) and G.D. Searle. Dr. Blake is qualified in medicine from the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine, London University. He is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and a Fellow of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine of the Royal College of Physicians. He is also a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacology. Dr. Blake has been involved in the development of several pharmaceutical drugs including Tenormin, Zestril, Kytril, Relafen, Paxil, Coreg, Havrix, Hycamtin, Famvir, Requip, Avandia, Provigil, and Fentora. Dr. Blake served on the board of Memory Pharmaceutical, Inc. until it was purchased by Roche in 2009. He was a founding board member of Protez Pharmaceuticals, Inc. until it was purchased by Novartis in 2008. He was also a Director of ViaCell, Inc., until its purchase by Perkin Elmer in 2007 and of Oxford BioMedica from 2008 until 2016. He has also served as a member of the Inter-Company Collaboration for AIDS Drug Development and as a trustee of the Children’s Health Fund.

Joseph Dowling

Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Dowling was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Company in May 2018. Prior to his appointment as CEO, Mr. Dowling held the position of CFO with the Company since 2014. Prior to 2014, Mr. Dowling held numerous senior positions including President and Chief Financial Officer of MediVas, LLC, a biotechnology company focused on drug formulation and delivery from 2005 to 2013 where he led day-to-day operations, drug research and development, product development and commercialization and strategic alliance building including license agreements with Pfizer, Merck, Wyeth, DSM, Guidant and Boston Scientific. Mr. Dowling also served as a Managing Director at Citigroup, a global financial services firm, and earlier in his career served various operating, finance and accounting roles in both public accounting and in the banking industry. Mr. Dowling graduated from University of California, Los Angeles in Economics and is a certified public accountant.

Terri Funk Graham

Independent Director

Ms. Terri Funk Graham has served as a Director of CV Sciences, Inc. since August 22, 2019. Ms. Graham joined the Board of Directors with vast experience serving on the Board of Fortune 1000 companies. She is currently an Independent Board Director for Sprouts Farmers Market Inc., a $5 billion specialty retailer of natural and organic food focusing on health and wellness, where she serves as the Chairperson of the Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee and serves on the Compensation Committee. Ms. Graham is also an Independent Board Director for Lumber Liquidators Inc., a $1 billion specialty retailer of hard-surface flooring, where she serves as the Chairperson of the Nominating & Corporate Governance Committee and a member of the Compensation Committee. She also served on the Hot Topic Inc. and 1-800 Contacts Inc. Boards before these companies were sold to private equity firms. In addition to her extensive Board experience, Ms. Graham is a senior marketing executive change agent who directly influenced the success, image and growth of the $3 billion Jack in the Box brand for more than 20 years. As the SVP & Chief Marketing Officer for Jack in the Box for 10 years, she was a pioneer in innovative branding, product development, advertising and digital media. Acknowledged for her strategic thinking, financial acumen, courage and proven results, her strategic vision and business expertise enabled her to effectively reinvent the Jack brand multiple times with franchise partners and executive management. While at Jack in the Box, Ms. Graham delivered one of the most successful national advertising campaigns achieving 10 Effie Awards and several Belding’s and Clio Awards.

Dr. Joseph Maroon

Independent Director

Joseph Maroon, MD, FACS is a board-certified neurosurgeon and Heindl Scholar in neurosciences. He is regarded as a premier specialist in the surgical treatment of injuries and diseases of the brain and spine, particularly with microscopic and minimally invasive procedures. He has published over 270 papers and is on numerous editorial boards. He is consistently listed in America’s Best Doctors and has an international patient clientele. He is the co-developer of ImPACT™ (Immediate Post-Concussion Assessment and Cognitive Testing). Dr. Maroon is also a health and fitness expert and Ironman triathlete. He has written six books including Fish Oil: The Natural Anti-Inflammatory and The Longevity Factor: How Resveratrol and Red Wine Activate Genes for a Longer and Healthier Life. He is president of Inflammation Solutions, LLC, and serves as senior vice-president of the American Academy of Anti-Aging Medicine.

CV Sciences does not recruit through Facebook or any other social media sites. When applying for a job, please ensure you communicate with our HR Department: